Nowadays, it looks like everyone is a spammer. I mean, there are various tactics to spam but in the long run, it’s basically delivering unwanted information. So, after an interesting observation this morning, I had to question if the new owner of Bloggin-Ads.com was a spammer or not.
Remember just the other day when I was mentioning how Akismet can give you some great keywords, well, apparently if you pay attention enough, it can make you question other webmasters reputations as well.
I was just looking for legit comments in my spam filter to find tons of spam linking directly to bloggin-ads’ forum. Of course, there wasn’t just one but there were tons of them.
I decided that I would take some screenshots (which you can see below) so you guys can witness it for yourself. And for the record, there are probably like 20-30 of these in my spam filter.
and…
As you can see, someone from “loansbank.net” with the IP address of “193.254.234.60″ seems to be spamming a lot. Now, I honestly don’t think someone with a decent enough reputation in the Blogosphere would spam like this because you know damn right you will be caught and blasted for it.
But then again, you never know nowadays…
I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt that he wasn’t the spammer because he’ll be ruining his reputation deliberately. But that doesn’t hold him back from being innocent because he could be associated in some way with a true spammer.
To be fair, everyone is associated with a spammer but the difference is knowing the fact and not knowing. For instance, if he were to have paid someone to do this for him for a small fee, he’s just as bad as the spammer.
On the other hand, if he didn’t then he’s not at fault at all.
So, which one is it?
I don’t like to put people out there (although it’s fun sometimes) but I figured we get this stuff out in the open. To be fair, I also checked out what other spam comments show up from the IP address “193.254.234.60″ and another one came up linking to a forum to “win4lin.net” which just seems completely empty (screenshot below).
My personal conclusion is Bloggin-Ads is not a spammer but he may potentially know this spammer who is doing this for various websites it seems. Feel free to do a quick search through your comments for the IP address listed above and see if you find any other websites.







the comments are obviously spam. He must have paid someone to do blog commenting
My 2 cents
2ask.wss last blog post..Posting after long time.
Good catch!
One possibility is people who have posted a comment on the bloggin-ads’ forum (possibly on the specific page linked to in the comment spam you received) are trying to get some ‘link juice’ to that forum page – perhaps because they made a post on that forum with a link to their own website in their Sig.
…therefore the comment spammers are hoping their Sig link on the forum page will benefit from the extra ‘link juice’ they subsequently send to the forum (page) via this method. And any wrath from blog owners will be directed towards the owner of the forum instead of the spammer’s own site.
Just a thought. Maybe some dough head came out with an ebook or made a forum post suggesting people do this. :-/
Either way, thanks for the heads up!
blog spammers who coordinate machines to post links to their own sites in the comments sections of blogs, or sploggers who simply steal others’ blog content wholesale in order to splatter affiliate ads around it.
Yes , very good catch, it would agree with 2ask. It looks like he has paid somebody to spam his links. This is why Askimet works so well
At times it can also be done by someone who want to make that company appear as spam na?
Kurt Avishs last blog post..The Great Bloggers Interview of Mauritius 2009
Maybe the owner will drop by and fill us in on what is happening.
Dintzs last blog post..FEMA Prison Camps and the 1970 Stabilization Act
I don’t think he is a spammer
Gadgets last blog post..Panasonic SDR-H80 SD & HDD Camcorder (Red)
Well aren’t we dealing with the new owner here? Personally I don’t really think he would be a spammer, but you never know what he might decide to dish out. I do agree with Kurt though, it could be someone trying to blackmail Bloggin-Ads.
The comments are obvious spam – I feel like it’s not even that he paid someone. I think it was just a bot spamming hundreds comments every minute everywhere in hopes that at least some of those comments will stick.
Gadget, did you see the screenshot of the comments? The comments were blatantly spam. I think it would be best though to give him the benefit of the doubt as it could be a specific user on the site’s forum, or somebody paid to do commenting. We should allow him to speak up on the situation before we judge. Anyhow, if he did hire somebody, I hope they are no longer working for him because those comments were almost comical.
Rap Videoss last blog post..Khizman feat. Skyzoo – That’s Life